Skip to Content
 

Driver's Education - Spring Break

image

Joshua's Law Teen Driver's Education Training:

Learning to drive is a major milestone in a teenager's life. It's important for young or inexperienced drivers to learn safe driving techniques. There are four different ways Joshua's Law can be satisfied for teenagers to meet the requirements for a Class D license. The program offered by West Georgia Tech meets the option that includes 30 hours of classroom instruction and 6 additional hours of drive time with an instructor. Most insurance companies also give a reduction (approx. 10%) on insurance premiums upon successful completion. West Georgia Tech provides a (DDS approved) Driver's Education program in cooperation with the Georgia Driver's Education Commission (GDEC).

Participants must be between 15 and 17 years of age and possess a valid Georgia Learner's Permit. Participants must attend all class dates for the full class periods. There are NO EXCEPTIONS for missed days/time. They must also complete all six (6) hours of behind-the-wheel driving. Training will include a minimum of four full days plus additional driving days which will be arranged by the instructor and parent/guardian and student. All 30/6 hours must be completed within a six month period. A Learner's Permit must be presented at the time of registration and also carried during all drive time instruction.

Includes 1 hour "on your own" lunch break.

Parent Orientation - Plan for 30mins on first day of class.

HOW TO REGISTER FOR WGTC DRIVER'S EDUCATION CLASSES (YOU MUST COMPLETE ALL SIX REGISTRSTION STEPS):

Step 1: Click the Enroll Yourself Button below then click Create Account on the screen that appears.

Step 2: Complete Online Registration by creating an account with child's information and parent/guardian contact information.

"PARENTS TO ENSURE THAT ALL STEPS ARE FOLLOWED, PLEASE DO NOT ALLOW YOUR CHILD TO REGISTER THEMSELVES".

Step 3: Download and complete the required registration packet and return within 7 days of your online registration.

Step 4: PAYMENT: Submit a valid form of payment online for the $350 fee. Grant voucher ID's/Redemption Codes must be included on the registration packet and submitted within 7 business days of class registration. Failure to submit on time will result in your registration cancellation. Enter the six character Grant Redemption Code in the "Special Needs" section of your account registration profile.

Step 5: Grant vocher ID's/Redemption Code approval date must be before the selected class start date.

Step 6: If you've paid out of pocket and are approved for the Grant funded program, you will be refunded a maximum of $350 per registration after the class starts.

HOW TO CHECK ELIGIBILITY AND QUALIFY FOR THE GRANT FUNDED PROGRAM:

Step 7: Attach a copy of the valid learner's permit (not a temporary copy).

Step 8: Return the required registration packet and permit via email to coned@westgatech.edu or fax at 678-664-0513.

ATTENTION: In addition to your online registration, please also ensure that you complete and submit the printable Registration Packet (see download links below) because seats are limited, all required registration packet forms must be completed in their entirety with a copy of the valid learner's permit (not a temporary or expired copy) and then returned at least 14 business days before class starts to our Community Education office. Students who submit late documents will be dropped from the class. Also, when registering online, please ensure that you enter your child's full name as it appears on their learner's permit and not the parents/guardians name.

Due to limited seating please only register your child for one class. Unexcused missed days are not allowed. If you know that you cannot attend all sessions, PLEASE DO NOT REGISTER for this program. Please be advised of the $25 drop-add/class transfer/cancelation fee. Students are required to complete the 36 hour program within 180 days or risk being dropped from the grant funded training. If dropped you will have to pay the full $350 registration fee to continue.

You will be contacted at a later date to schedule the 6 hours of drive time. Students are required to be scheduled to complete the 36 hour program within 90-days of the thirty hour classroom portion.

Completed Registration Packets may be faxed Monday-Thursday from 8am-6pm and Friday's 8am-Noon to 678-664-0513 or emailed to coned@westgatech.edu.

Code:12SCECPERS05
Dates:April 2-5, 2012    Check for other dates
Meets:4 Classes
Monday, April 2, 2012, 8:30 AM to 5 PM , Carroll Campus 401
Tuesday, April 3, 2012, 8:30 AM to 5 PM , Carroll Campus 401
Wednesday, April 4, 2012, 8:30 AM to 5 PM , Carroll Campus 401
Thursday, April 5, 2012, 8:30 AM to 5 PM , Carroll Campus 401
Location:Carroll Campus 401
Hours:36.00
CEUS:3.60
Instructor:Jason Blackmon
Fee:$375.00  Fee Breakdown  

Sorry, this course is inactive. Please contact our office to see if it will be reinstated, or if alternative classes are available.





Enrollment Progress ...     What's This?
                                       


Return to Course Listing