Joshua's Law Teen Driver's Education Training:
Learning to drive is a major milestone in a teenager's life. It's important for young or inexperienced drivers to learn safe driving techniques. There are four different ways Joshua's Law can be satisfied for teenagers to meet the requirements for a Class D license. The program offered by West Georgia Tech meets the option that includes 30 hours of classroom instruction and 6 additional hours of drive time with an instructor. Most insurance companies also give a reduction (approx. 10%) on insurance premiums upon successful completion. West Georgia Tech provides a (DDS approved) Driver's Education program in cooperation with the Georgia Driver's Education Commission (GDEC).
Participants must be between 15 and 17 years of age and possess a valid Georgia Learner's Permit. Participants must attend all class dates for the full class periods. There are NO EXCEPTIONS for missed days/time. They must also complete all six (6) hours of behind-the-wheel driving. All 30/6 hours must be completed within a six month period. A Learner's Permit must be presented at the time of registration and also carried during all drive time instruction.
Parent Orientation - Plan for 20 mins at the beginning of the first day of class.
HOW TO REGISTER ONLINE FOR WGTC DRIVER'S EDUCATION CLASSES (PLEASE READ ALL STEPS BEFORE BEGINNING REGISTRATION PROCESS):
**PARENTS: TO ENSURE THAT ALL STEPS ARE FOLLOWED, PLEASE DO NOT ALLOW YOUR CHILD TO REGISTER THEMSELVES.**
Step 1: Download and/or print the required registration packet, complete and return within 7 days of your online registration. Attach a photo of the valid learner's permit (not a temporary copy.)
Step 2: Click the Enroll Yourself Button below then click Create Account on the screen that appears.
Step 3: Complete Online Registration by creating an account with child's name and parent/guardian contact information.
Step 4: PAYMENT: Submit a valid form of payment online for the $350 fee. Grant voucher ID's/Redemption Codes must be included on the registration packet and emailed within 7 business days of class registration. Failure to submit on time will result in registration cancellation. Grant voucher ID's/Redemption Code approval date must be before the selected class start date. If you've paid out of pocket and are approved for the Grant funded program, you will be refunded $350 per registration after the class starts.
HOW TO CHECK ELIGIBILITY AND QUALIFY FOR THE GRANT FUNDED PROGRAM:
ATTENTION: When registering online, please ensure that you enter your child's full name as it appears on their learner's permit, not the parents/guardians name. All contact info (email and phone numbers) must be the parent contact information.
Unexcused missed days are not allowed. If you know that you cannot attend all sessions, PLEASE DO NOT REGISTER for this program. Students are required to complete the 36 hour program within 180 days or risk being dropped from the grant funded training. If dropped you will have to pay the full $350 registration fee to continue. *Make up days are available for excused absences.*
You will be contacted to schedule the 6 hours of drive time. Students are required to be scheduled to complete the 36 hour program within 90-days of the thirty hour classroom portion.
Sorry, we are no longer accepting registrations for this course. Please contact our office to find out if it will be rescheduled, or if alternative classes are available.
Enrollment Progress ... What's This?